Art: Medieval Art

SURVEYS

• Early medieval art - Lawrence Nees 2002 
• Medieval Art - Marilyn Stokstad 1986  
• Medieval Art - Veronica Sekules 2001 
• Gardner, Helen, d. 1946. Gardner's art through the ages / Fred S. Kleiner, Christin J. Mamiya. Belmont, CA : Thomson/Wadsworth, c2005.
• Linehan, Janet L. and Peter Linehan.  The medieval world.    London ; New York : Routledge, 2001.
• Vauchez, Andre, ed. Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages [electronic resource]  translated by Adrian Walford. Oxford : Oxford University Press, c2001.

UNCA GENERAL COLLECTIONS

• Friedman, John Block. Medieval iconography: a research guide. New York: Garland Publishing, 1998.
• Reading Medieval Images, ed. E. Sears and T. Thomas, University of Michigan Press, 2002
• Meyer Schapiro, Romanesque Art New York : George Braziller, 1993
• Wolfgang Kemp, Typological Narrative: The Narratives of Gothic Stained Glass, Cambridge University Press, 1997
• Emmerson, R. and B. McGinn. The Apocalypse in the Middle Ages, ed. R. Emmerson and B. McGinn, Ithica, N.Y.: Cornell University Press, 1992
• Suzanne Lewis, The Rhetoric of Power in the Bayeux Tapestry, New York: Cambridge University Press, 1999
• Hilmo, Maidie, Medieval Images, Icons, and Illustrated English Literary Texts, Aldershot, Hampshire, England ; Burlington, VT: Ashgate, 2004
• Farr, Carol Ann. The Book of Kells. Its Function and Audience, London : British Library ; Toronto ; Buffalo : University of Toronto Press, 1997
• The Age of Sutton Hoo [computer file] : the seventh century in north-western Europe, [electronic book] Woodbridge, Suffolk, UK : Boydell Press, 1992
• Marquardt, Janet and Alyce A. Jordan, eds. Medieval art and architecture after the Middle Ages.  Newcastle : Cambridge Scholars, 2009.
• Rudolph, Conrad, ed. A companion to medieval art : Romanesque and Gothic in Northern Europe.  Malden, MA : Blackwell, 2006.
• Calkins, Robert G. Monuments of medieval art.  Ithaca : Cornell University Press, [1985?], c1979.
• Kitzinger, Ernst, 1912- Early medieval art in the British Museum. Early medieval art, with illustrations from the British Museum and British Library collections.   Rev. ed. Bloomington : Indiana University Press, 1983.
• Smith, Norris Kelly. Medieval art; an introduction to the art and architecture of Europe, A. D. 300-A. D. 1300. Dubuque, Iowa, W. C. Brown [1967]. 
• Beckwith, John, 1918-  Early medieval art.  New York, Praeger [1964] 
• Huyghe, René. ed.  Art et l'homme. English. Larousse encyclopedia of Byzantine and medieval art. New York, Prometheus Press [1963]. 
• Strickland, Debra Higgs, 1958-  Saracens, demons, & Jews : making monsters in medieval art. Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press, c2003. 
•  Landes, Richard, Andrew Gow and David C. Van Meter. The apocalyptic year 1000 : religious expectation and social change, 950-1050     Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2003. 
• Bartlett, Robert.  Medieval panorama. Los Angeles : J. Paul Getty Museum, 2001. 
• NetSERF [electronic resource] : the Internet connection for medieval resources.  [Washington, DC] : Dept. of History, Catholic University of America, c1995-
• Gerson, Paula Lieber, ed.  Abbot Suger and Saint-Denis : a symposium.  New York : Metropolitan Museum of Art, 1986.
• Gesta [electronic resource]. Fort Tryon Park, N.Y. [etc.] International Center of Medieval Art.
• Ashley, Kathleen M., 1944-  Being a pilgrim : art and ritual on the medieval routes to Santiago / Kathleen Ashley and Marilyn Deegan.
• Farnham : Lund Humphries, 2009.
• Brown,  Katharine Reynolds, and Dafydd Kidd, and Charles T. Little, eds..  From Attila to Charlemagne : arts of the early medieval period in the Metropolitan Museum of Art. New York : Metropolitan Museum of Art ; New Haven : Distributed by Yale University Press, c2000. 
• Lepage, Jean-Denis. Castles and fortified cities of medieval Europe : an illustrated history / Jean-Denis G.G. Lepage. Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland, c2002.

Nees, Lawrence. Early Medieval Art -2002

Stokstad, Marilyn . Medieval Art -1986

Sekules, Veronica. Medieval Art - 2001

Gardner, Helen. Gardner's art through the ages -2005.

Linehan, Janet L. and Peter Linehan. The medieval world. - 2001.

Vauchez, Andre, ed. Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages [electronic resource] Oxford : Oxford University Press. - 2001.

• Web Gallery of Art
• Romanesque Architecture
• British Library  (includes access to catalogues)
• Medieval Review Publishes reviews of current work in all areas of Medieval Studies
• CATHOLIC ENCYCLOPEDIA: Home Catholic resources on the Internet, containing more than 10000 articles.
• Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
• Glossary for Medieval Art and Architecture - <http://www.pitt.edu/~medart/menuglossary/INDEX.HTM>
• Medieval Art and Architecture
• Hildegard of Bingen
• History of Fashion and Dress: Late Medieval Europe & The Early Italian Renaissance
• Celtic Art and Cultures
• Amiens Cathedral A comprehensive overview of the architectural structure of the cathedral.
• Aberdeen Bestiary (manuscript) A scholarly exploration of the manuscript
• Bayeux Tapestry
• The Rule of St. Benedict
• Sutton Hoo Ship Burial  Robjent,Thomas.  The Sutton Hoo Ship Burial: A General Background and Source List [bibliography]
• Monastic Orders online
  Contains listing to major monastic orders including
       The Carthusians 
       The Cistercians and  Trappists 
       The Order of St. Benedict
• Medieval History in the Movies
• Self-Representation in the Late Middle Ages
• The Illuminated Middle Ages