Skip to main content D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville

Events & Exhibits: 2011 Brown Bag Talks

2011 Schedule

Tuesday, December 1, 2011

Special Event
REDACTION! A Reading


LOCATION: Special Collections

Amy Borg, Paul Loomis, Dana Middleton, Jesse Rice-Evans, Mesha Maren and Matt Owens

Redaction is a community-based, peer-facilitated creative writing workshop meeting weekly on Fridays in the University Writing Center. They welcome all comers to talk about and share their prose and poetry.

View flyer (pdf)

 

 

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

Ellen Pearson (History)

Remaking Custom: Law and Identity in the Early American Republic

Ramsey Library's Whitman Room


 

Tuesday, September 6, 2011

Mike Neelon (Psychology)

Building a Brain in 1 hour and 500 million years

Ramsey Library's Whitman Room


 

Tuesday, September 27, 2011

Jennifer Ward, Jonathan Horton and David Clarke (Biology)

Creating a Research-Infused Botanical Curriculum at a Public Liberal Arts University

Ramsey Library's Whitman Room
  

   

 

Tuesday, October 4, 2011

Charles Bennett, Brian Dennison (Physics)

Working with students in Radio Astronomy at the Pisgah Astronomical Research Institute 

Ramsey Library's Whitman Room

 

 

Tuesday, October 18, 2011

Bill Spellman
Professor and Executive Director, COPLAC

Textbooks and Topical Surveys: Writing for a Student and General Audience

Ramsey Library's Whitman Room

 

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

Erica Abrams Locklear (Literature and Language)

Negotiating a Perilous Empowerment

Ramsey Library's Whitman Room
  

 

Tuesday, November 15, 2011

More Than Numbers: Writing in the Disciplines and Writing-To-Learn in Quantitative Discipliness

Ramsey Library's Whitman Room

 

Dan Pierce (History) Real NASCAR: White Lightning, Red Clay, and Big Bill France

Tuesday, January 25, 2011 (12:30pm—1:30)
Special Collections Reading Room

Laura Hope-Gill (Literature)
The Soul Tree: Poems and Photographs of the
Southern Appalachians

Tuesday, February 8, 2011 (12:30pm—1:30)
Whitman Room—Ramsey Library

Katherine Zubko (Religious Studies)
Inside the Indian Business Mind: A Tactical Guide
for Managers

Thursday, March 3, 2011 (12:30pm—1:30)
Special Collections Reading Room

Laurel Taylor (Art and Classics)
The 100 Roman Farms Project

Thursday, March 24, 2011 (12:30pm—1:30)
Special Collections Reading Room

Holly Iglesias (MLA)
Angles of Approach

Tuesday, April 5, 2011 (12:30pm—1:30)
Special Collections Reading Room

Bryan Schaffer (Management and Accountancy
Latest Trends in Relational Demography Research and Workplace Diversity

Tuesday, April 19, 2011 (12:30pm—1:30)
Special Collections Reading Room