Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville

Events & Exhibits: Fall 2022 Virtual Library Brown Bag Talks

Fall 2022 Virtual Library Brown Bag Talks

Library Brown Bag Talks will be offered via Zoom during the Fall 2022 semester. An email will be sent to the UNC Asheville community during the week of the talk with information about logging into Zoom. 

All Library Brown Bags are free and open to UNC Asheville students, faculty, and staff. Several select Brown Bags will be open to the larger community and will require registration. 

For questions or comments about Library Brown Bag Talks, please contact Gene Hyde, Head of Special Collections and University Archivist, UNC Asheville. ghyde@unca.edu or 828-251-6645.

"The Effect of Master Narratives on Trauma-Creation: 'Coriolanus' – a Case Study"

Thursday, September 8

12 - 1 PM

Via Zoom - login information will be sent via email a few days before the talk 

Ann Dunn, Humanities, Arts and Ideas

"The Effect of Master Narratives on Trauma-Creation: 'Coriolanus' – a Case Study"

Stoicism, Social and Cultural Theory, Philosophical truths embedded in Literature – crossing genres to formulate good questions.

In “Coriolanus”, Shakespeare challenges two interconnected master narratives: the story of the perfect and righteous polity (Rome), and the story of the perfect and indestructible masculinity (warrior hero), both of which powerful myths root themselves in invented and selective history and are perpetuated by self-interested power-hungry individuals, and both of which fabrications contain within them the seeds of their own demise – which becomes apparent when held up to reality. Neither of these idealistic illusions allows room for the nuances of polities or of human nature. In the end, Coriolanus does accept the nuances of being human, and thus accepts his own imminent mortality; in so doing, he also saves his beloved Rome – not as an ideal but as a city full of fellow flawed humans – and he does so not with the sword but with his tongue. By crossing the genres of literature and psychology, I attempt to show, as I believe Shakespeare does, the tragic trauma that master narratives cause in those who foster and/or embrace them: men and women, adults and children, individuals and communities, yesterday and today.

"Using Science Communication Instruction to Improve Undergraduate Science Literacy Skills"

Thursday, September 15

12 - 1 PM

Via Zoom - login information will be sent via email a few days before the talk 

Angel Kaur, Neuroscience Program, Chemistry & Biochemistry (Project PI)

"Using Science Communication Instruction to Improve Undergraduate Science Literacy Skills"

This session will share information about the SciComm Scholars Institute, a faculty development program designed to improve students' science literacy and communication skills in core STEM courses.  With funding from the National Science Foundation's Improving Undergraduate STEM Education program, this project offers support for faculty interested in revising an existing course using evidence-based teaching practices aimed at increasing student motivation and engagement. Attendees will learn more about the program and hear from participants from the 2022 cohort about their experience with SSI. Eligible faculty interested in applying for the 2023 or 2024 cohorts are encouraged to attend.

 

"Intro to Simple Message Service"

Thursday, September 29

12 - 1 PM

Via Zoom - login information will be sent via email a few days before the talk 

 James Michiemo, Web Developer, ITS

"Intro to Simple Message Service" 

Commonly known as texting, SMS is a system used on most mobile phones. This presentation will briefly explain SMS and various ways programmable SMS can be used as a web service with examples. Code snippets of implementations will be shared for technical audiences and real world SMS experiences will be shared for the wider audience of mobile phone users.

“'For a scholar and vagrants': Tales of Early Modern Poor Relief from the Huntington Library’s Archives"

Thursday, October 20

12 - 1 PM

Via Zoom - login information will be sent via email a few days before the talk 

Evan Gurney,  English

“'For a scholar and vagrants': Tales of Early Modern Poor Relief from the Huntington Library’s Archives"

What does one do in the face of widespread inflation, rampant contagion, and climate disaster? How does one navigate precarious health and economic disadvantage amid the depredations of exploitative markets and a burgeoning surveillance state? Such was the general condition of life for the poor in the 16th- and early 17th-century England. This presentation will draw on research from a month-long fellowship at the Huntington Library and its rich archive of parish accounting books, churchwarden records, petitions for relief, and other materials that tell a complex (sometimes uplifting, often dispiriting) story of individuals and communities responding to economic crisis.

"Southern Appalachian Digital Collections"

Thursday, October 27

12 - 1 PM

Via Zoom - login information will be sent via email a few days before the talk 

Gene Hyde, Head of Special Collections, UNC Asheville

Liz Harper, Special and Digital Collections Librarian, Western Carolina University 

"Southern Appalachian Digital Collections: A Collaborative Venture" 

In  2019 Special Collections from Western Carolina University and UNC Asheville collaborated on an LSTA grant to to merge their online collections into a shared digital platform. This new platform, Southern Appalachian Digital Collections, went online earlier this year. Our presentation will discuss the collaborative process working with a grant-funded consultant, selecting a vendor to create the platform, working with that vendor to build the site, creating standards and guidelines for the project, and adding content to the site. We'll discuss our plans to add more content, invite regional partners to join us, and the future of this collaborative project. 

NEH Grant discussion

Thursday, November 10

12 - 1 PM

Via Zoom - login information will be sent via email a few days before the talk 

Ellen Pearson, History

Victoria Bradbury, New Media , Language and Literatures 

Title and description coming soon! 

Title coming soon!

Thursday, November 17

12 - 1 PM

Via Zoom - login information will be sent via email a few days before the talk 

Allison Ormsby, Environmental Studies

David Todd and Dan Croisant, Facilities 

"Carbon Commitment - Climate Action Planning at UNC Asheville"