Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
D. Hiden Ramsey Library, University of North Carolina at Asheville
Books in this display
Death by Black Hole by Loyal readers of the monthly "Universe" essays in Natural History magazine have long recognized Neil deGrasse Tyson's talent for guiding them through the mysteries of the cosmos with clarity and enthusiasm. Bringing together more than forty of Tyson's favorite essays, ?Death by Black Hole? explores a myriad of cosmic topics, from what it would be like to be inside a black hole to the movie industry's feeble efforts to get its night skies right. One of America's best-known astrophysicists, Tyson is a natural teacher who simplifies the complexities of astrophysics while sharing his infectious fascination for our universe.
Call Number: QB982 .T965 2007
Publication Date: 2007-11-17
Eclipses by Discusses eclipses, explaining what they are, how they came to be, and how they impact human life.
Call Number: QB175 .M67 2012
Publication Date: 2011-07-15
The Hundred Greatest Stars by While there are guides to the visible sky, this is the first book to encompass the most important stars known in the universe at a level accessible to the layperson. The noted astronomer James Kaler takes us on a tour of the 100 most interesting stars, describing their characteristics and importance in words and vivid pictures. James B. Kaler is an internationally recognized expert on stars and their formation. A professor of astronomy at the University of Illinois, he is the author of "Stars and Their Spectra" (Cambridge), "Stars" (Freeman/Scientific American Library), "Cosmic Clouds" (Freeman/Scientific American Library), and numerous articles for popular and professional astronomy magazines.
Call Number: QB801 .K244 2002
Publication Date: 2002-06-19
Seeing Stars by #Includes index.#Focuses on the stars as they are born, live, and die while also including descriptions of the sun, comets, shooting stars, and constellations.
Call Number: QB46 .M9487 1998
Publication Date: 1998-09-02
The Sun As a Star by As our nearest star, the Sun offers a unique opportunity to study stellar physics in action. Following the success of his previous books, Galaxies and The Stars, Roger Tayler presents the first full picture of how studies of the Sun and the solar system help us understand stars in general and other planetary systems. Using mathematics appropriate for advanced undergraduate students in physics, this textbook provides a broad and wide-ranging introduction to the Sun as a star. Succinct derivations of key results - such as the properties of spectral lines, the theory of stellar oscillations, plasma physics, magnetohydrodynamics and dynamo theory - are provided in a number of handy appendices, ensuring that the book is completely self contained. Altogether, this is an invaluable textbook for students studying the Sun, stars, the solar-terrestrial environment and the formation of planetary systems.
Call Number: QB521 .T39 1997
Publication Date: 1996-11-07
Welcome to the Universe by A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Welcome to the Universe is a personal guided tour of the cosmos by three of today's leading astrophysicists. Inspired by the enormously popular introductory astronomy course that Neil deGrasse Tyson, Michael A. Strauss, and J. Richard Gott taught together at Princeton, this book covers it all--from planets, stars, and galaxies to black holes, wormholes, and time travel. Describing the latest discoveries in astrophysics, the informative and entertaining narrative propels you from our home solar system to the outermost frontiers of space. How do stars live and die? Why did Pluto lose its planetary status? What are the prospects of intelligent life elsewhere in the universe? How did the universe begin? Why is it expanding and why is its expansion accelerating? Is our universe alone or part of an infinite multiverse? Answering these and many other questions, the authors open your eyes to the wonders of the cosmos, sharing their knowledge of how the universe works. Breathtaking in scope and stunningly illustrated throughout, Welcome to the Universe is for those who hunger for insights into our evolving universe that only world-class astrophysicists can provide.
Call Number: QB982 .T974 2016
Publication Date: 2016-09-29
Astrophotography by For the amateur astronomer, here is a clear explanation of the equipment necessary and techniques to use in photographing the sky.
Call Number: QB121 .L57 1986
Publication Date: 1986-01-01
Books in this display
The Astronomer's Universe by Until the first quarter of the 20th century, the Milky Way galaxy was all we knew of the universe. Static and eternal, it consisted of a 100 billion stars and a multitude of questions. Then came a burst of technology and research, which has lasted six decades and is still in progress. We know that 15 billion years ago the universe exploded from its tiny seed, leaving scattered through empty space billions of galaxies filled with such exotica as neutron stars, black holes, pulsars, quasars, white dwarfs and red giants. The hiss of cosmic microwave radiation remains as testimony to the Big Bang of creation.
Call Number: QB351 .F69 1998
Publication Date: 1998-07-01
Astrophysics of the Sun by This is an entirely new edition of Harold Zirin's classic text on the solar atmosphere. Combining an introductory course in astrophysics with a comprehensive treatment of the theoretical and observational aspects of our present knowledge of the sun, the book has been completely updated. It includes a large number of spectacular new photographs, including many of the best solar pictures from the world's observatories. Professor Zirin is one of the leading scientists in his field. His lucid writing style, combined with considerable teaching experience, has resulted in a valuable and important textbook of astrophysics.
Call Number: QB521 .Z57 1988
Publication Date: 1988-06-23
The Book of the Moon by To celebrate the fortieth anniversary of man's first steps on the moon, a visually striking cornucopia of everything worth knowing about our closest neighbor in space. Can you remember where you were on July 20, 1969, when, in one of the iconic moments of the twentieth century, Neil Armstrong took his first steps on the moon? The distant object that had fascinated mankind for millennia suddenly got much closer. Rick Stroud has been obsessed with the moon since childhood, and here provides the culmination of that passion--an utterly original and absorbing account of all things lunar, a book that celebrates the physics that created the moon and the technology that took us there as much as its magic and mystery. Opening with the debatable story of how the moon was formed (scientists still don't agree on this), Stroud then turns to the stories of mankind's fascination with Earth's satellite--from Babylonian astronomers thousands of years before Christ, to the Greek, Roman, and Arab scientists who paved the way for the Renaissance, to the astronomers and astronauts of our time. He delves into the mythology and astrology that have inspired civilizations and cultures the world over, alongside the scientific and medicinal advances that have come from our lunar connection. Filled with original lists, intriguing statistics, and compelling images, The Book of the Moon draws us closer to the rocky orb that may hold the secrets of our own Earth's beginnings.
Call Number: QB581.9 .S77 2009
Publication Date: 2009-06-23
The Cambridge Eclipse Photography Guide by The Cambridge Eclipse Photography Guide describes everything you need to know to observe and photograph the forthcoming solar and lunar eclipses in the 1990s. It gives maps and descriptions of where and how to view forthcoming eclipses, with particular attention to two popularly-awaited solar eclipses: an annular eclipse (where a ring of sunlight is visible around the moon) that will cross the United States in 1994, and a total eclipse that will pass over Europe in 1999. The authors also describe past eclipse expeditions, capturing the excitement of the observers.
Call Number: QB121 .C69 1993
Publication Date: 1993-11-18
Cosmic Catastrophes by From supernovae and gamma-ray bursts to the accelerating Universe, this is an exploration of the intellectual threads that lead to some of the most exciting ideas in modern astrophysics and cosmology. This fully updated second edition incorporates new material on binary stars, black holes, gamma-ray bursts, worm-holes, quantum gravity and string theory. It covers the origins of stars and their evolution, the mechanisms responsible for supernovae, and their progeny, neutron stars and black holes. It examines the theoretical ideas behind black holes and their manifestation in observational astronomy and presents neutron stars in all their variety known today. This book also covers the physics of the twentieth century, discussing quantum theory and Einstein's gravity, how these two theories collide, and the prospects for their reconciliation in the twenty-first century. This will be essential reading for undergraduate students in astronomy and astrophysics, and an excellent, accessible introduction for a wider audience.
Call Number: QB843.S95 W48 2007
Publication Date: 2007-01-04
Dynamic Sun by Dynamic Sun presents a comprehensive and authoritative overview of the Sun, from its deep core to the outer corona, and the solar wind. Each chapter is written by leading scientists in solar physics. Chapters deal with solar models and neutrinos, seismic Sun, rotation of the solar interior, helioseismic tomography, solar dynamo, spectro-polarimetry, solar photosphere and convection, dynamics and heating of the solar chromosphere, solar transition region, solar MHD, solar activity, particle acceleration, radio observations of explosive energy releases on the Sun, coronal seismology, coronal heating, VUV solar plasma diagnostics and the solar wind. Solar observing facilities are presented in the last chapter. With an introduction by eminent astrophysicist Eugene Parker, the twenty chapters of this book are all fully illustrated and have comprehensive reference lists. The book covers all major topics in solar physics, and is suitable for graduate students and researchers in solar physics, astrophysics and astronomy.
Call Number: QB521 .D96 2003
Publication Date: 2003-05-01
Extreme Stars by Over the past 200 years, our knowledge of stars has expanded enormously. From seeing myriad dots of different brightnesses, we moved on to measure distances, temperatures, sizes, chemical compositions, even ages, finding stars that dwarf our Sun and are dwarfed by it, some in their youth, others ancient. First published in 2001, Extreme Stars describes the lives of stars from a fascinating perspective. It examines their amazing extremes and results in an engaging overview of stellar evolution, suitable for anyone interested in viewing or studying stars. Ten chapters, generously illustrated throughout, explain the natures of the brightest, the largest, the hottest, the youngest, and so on, ending with a selection of the strangest stars the Universe has to offer. Taken as a whole, the chapters show how stars develop and die and how each extreme turns into another under the inexorable twin forces of time and gravity.
Call Number: QB801 .K23 2001
Publication Date: 2001-03-22
An Introduction to the Solar System by Compiled by a team of experts, this textbook has been designed for introductory university courses in planetary science. It starts with a tour of the Solar System and an overview of its formation. The composition, internal structure, surface morphology and atmospheres of the terrestrial planets are then described. This leads naturally to a discussion of the giant planets and why they are compositionally different. Minor bodies are reviewed and the book concludes with a discussion of the origin of the Solar System and the evidence from meteorites. Written in an accessible style that avoids complex mathematics, and illustrated in colour throughout, this book is suitable for self-study and will appeal to amateur enthusiasts as well as undergraduate students. It contains numerous helpful learning features such as boxed summaries, student exercises with full solutions, and a glossary of terms. The book is also supported by a website hosting further teaching materials.
Call Number: QB501 .I59 2004
Publication Date: 2004-02-26
Our Solar System by Our Solar System was born almost 5 billion years ago at the edge of the Milky Way galaxy. In over fifty dramatic, full-color photographs and an easy-to-read text, award-winning author Seymour Simon takes you on a fascinating tour of the nine planets, dozens of moons, and thousands of asteroids, meteoroids, and comets that travel around our sun. First, Simon explores the star at the center of our Solar System -- from the constant nuclear explosions at its core to the giant storms on its surface as geysers of flaming gas over a hundred thousand miles long rise and fall in just a few hours. You will also learn about the four rocky inner planets, from airless Mercury to fiery Venus, her sister planet, Earth, and mysterious Mars. Then join the thrilling Voyager missions to explore the four gaseous outer planets: gigantic Jupiter, ringed Saturn, tilted Uranus -- the planet "lying on its side" -- and windy Neptune. You will finish your journey at distant Pluto, then visit the asteroid belt and examine comets, the "dirty snowballs" in space. A companion volume to Simon's landmark series of individual books about each of the planets, the sun, stars, and other space sights, Our Solar System will introduce you to some of the most amazing mysteries in the universe.
Call Number: QB501.3 .S63 1992
Publication Date: 1992-09-21
Astrophotography by Astronomy buffs often wish they could photograph what they see through their telescopes. Camera buffs often wish they knew the techniques for capturing majestic yet elusive heavenly bodies. Astrophotography brings these two hobbies together in one complete resource. This big, fully-illustrated book offers: Practical guidance and authoritative advice Equipment resources and contacts Brand-new star charts and illustrations Techniques for conventional and digital photography Step-by-step instructions are given for choosing and using the right camera, shooting with a telescope, getting the best out of black and white and color film, and developing pictures at home or while traveling. Specific instructions are given for photographing: The Sun, the Moon and the planets Meteors and comets Stars and satellites Rainbows, halos, and other phenomena in the night sky This new edition also includes the latest information for shooting digital and dedicated astro CCDs (charge-coupled device) for capturing faint nebulae and distant galaxies. Generously illustrated with 100 color and black and white photographs, Astrophotography is an attractive and easy-to-use reference.
Call Number: QB121 .A75 2003
Publication Date: 2003-04-05